Roles

What Are Roles?

Roles provide a simple way to group categories together. This makes controlling large numbers of piDashboard users with the same access requirements much easier. 

On this page you can create, edit and delete Roles. When a role has been created, it can be allocated to Users on the ‘User Access’ tab. A user can have more than one role, this doesn’t prevent individual categories also been allocated to them. 

Consider you have thirty piDashboard users who are all Sales Managers and Sales Managers currently have access to six categories. If you create a seventh category for Sales Managers, and haven’t used Roles, then you would need to assign the new category to each of the 30 users individually. 

However, if you had created a role of ‘Sales Manager’ and assigned the six original categories to that, and then assigned each of the 30 users to the role ‘Sales Manager’ then to grant them access to the new category you would just have to add it to the Role.

Roles also allow you to quickly apply access controls (privileges) to a group of users.

Create A Role

To create a Role, click the Roles tab in the configuration screen and then click the ‘Add’ icon at the top of the screen.

After adding a new Role, we will need to give it a title, which must be unique.

In the Privileges section, select the privileges that you want to apply to the role. You may notice that some privileges have a related privilege. For example, if you hover over ‘Can Control Default Layout’ in the Designer section you will notice that ‘Can Modify Layouts’ is also highlighted in the User section. If you then select ‘Can Control Default Layout’, ‘Can Modify Layouts’ will also be selected.

You can however, select a privilege in the User section for example ‘Can Modify Layouts’ without having to also select ‘Can Control Default Layout’. 

After entering a name for the Role and selecting the privileges, click the Save icon.

Delete A Role

To delete a Role, click the ‘To Delete’ button at the bottom left-hand corner of the screen.

You will then be able to select the Role that you want to delete. 

You will only be able to select roles that can be deleted.

In the following screenshot, you will see that the Dashboard Admin role cannot be selected. If we hover over the icon highlighted in the screenshot we can see that the role can’t be deleted due to 1) it may have categories or 2) it has permissions and links to users. This means that all category permissions and users that have been given this role must be unassigned in the user access section before the role can be deleted.

After selecting the role(s) that you want to delete, click the ‘Delete Selected’ button.